Three random things to throw into your NaNoWriMo survival kit

We recently passed the halfway point in NaNoWriMo. Some people are ahead, some on target, and others (myself included) who have fallen a little bit behind. As a 3rd year NaNoWriMoer, this part of the month can be the hardest. The excitement from the first week is drifting away and the ecstatic rush of meeting your deadline in the last week hasn’t kicked in yet. All you can really do is keep going, and know that you’ve got this. The 100 words you just wrote might not seem like much, but they’re putting you 100 words closer to your goal. You can reach that goal. Believe in yourself.

That said, this months I’ve been slowed down by several things and here are three items that I’ve added to my NaNoWriMo survival kit to help me throw it.

  1. Mittens– I bought a pair of orange homemade mittens from the knitting club at my college. My fingers get really cold after long periods of writing, since the circulation to my hands is kind of weak. I’ve been using them to warm up my fingers during breaks.
  2. A heating pad– I made a quick heating pad last week by pouring about a cup of rice into a sock I never use. I’ll throw it into the microwave for about 25 seconds and put it on my wrists, which can sometimes feel overworks and strained after writing for a few hours straight.
  3. Stickers– every day that I reach my word count goal, I get a sticker. It’s a simple but productive motivation system, and if you’re really struggling to write, then this can be an easy way to remind yourself of how much you’ve accomplished.

That’s really it for this post. I wanted to keep it short, because I have to get back to writing and so do you (probably). Go NaNo!

Leave a Reply

