How to set yourself (and your resolutions) up for success

Resolutions are a sore topic for some people. They find resolutions pointless, because everyone drops them within the first few weeks of Janurary. I can tell you why that happens: people set themselve up for failure by making resolutions that are vague or unreasonable.

I constructed my resolutions this year as very specific, short-tem goals that can be adjusted throughout the year. These short-tem goals will add up to over-achering resolutions by the end of the year. I’ll go through how I created my resolutions and goals, and I plan to keep them up through January and beyond.

I started my resolutions as the normal, vague statements that they normally are. Those
are “be healthier,” “complete NQ novel,” “gain 500 followers for L.Z. Pell,” “strengthen
sense of self,” “do well in school,” and “be organized and clean.”

I then broke these vagities into more specific categories and goals. You want to make them easy to hit during Janurary to create a foundation of success instead of discouragement.  Like so:

 

I then created a legend in my bullet journal that corresponds to different goals on my resolutions page.

legend

These icons in the legends section of my bullet journal are then written down on my daily to-do lists.

daily example

After I’ve completed the task, I shade in the box.

Of course, you could always write out each task in full instead of using the icon, but I think that it’s quicker to use icons. It makes my to-do lists look shorter and less intimidating.

Then, to keep track of how I’m doing finishing my tasks per month, I created a habit tracker chart in my bullet journal.

habit tracker

I’ll shade in a box every time I complete one of the tasks. It’s the same idea as a sticker chart, but without the stickers. (You could use a sticker chart, though, if you think that will work better!)

I also created a reward chart to motivate myself to continue these short-term goals throughout the month. Each task is given a certain number of days that I have to complete it to get the reward. Eating a serving of vegetables everyday is set to everyday and has a reward of $5. To contrast that showering (at least) every other day has a $3 reward, because I think it will be easier to achieve that goal. The dollar amounts add up, and once I have enough I can buy something off the wishlist I made, which include things like “The Emotion Thesaurus,” make-up products, and the Hamilton soundtrack.

reward

And that’s pretty much it. As January goes on I’ll evelaute how easily I’m hittin my goals. If I am hitting them easily, then I’ll raise the bar for February. If not, I’ll either keep them the same of lower them a little bit.

Good luck and happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

