500 February- Day Four

The quick details of today’s writing session:

Day: 4

WC: 543

Total WC: 2,474

Time: ~20 min

Music: Hamilton soundtrack

** In case you don’t know what I’m talking about, I created a writing challenge for the month of February. The goal is to write 500 word every day of the month, and I’m updating my blog with how it’s going. If anyone wants to join in, it’s not too late! If you’re doing it/ about to start it comment below so I can follow your blog and cheer you on!**

 

Thoughts on the writing session:

Today went much quicker than every other day so far. I think that was partially, because I was writing a lot of dialogue. One of the things that I’m trying out in my draft are thought conversations, which is basically when my main character, Vincent, talks to himself in his head. I think that it’s fairly common for people to have conversations with themselves, especially when trying to make decisions. (E.g. Should I have the burrito or the salad? Well you haven’t eaten any vegetables today. Alright, I should have the salad, then.) Or maybe that’s just me, and now I’ve admitted my craziness to the world.

Either way, I decided to have that internal dialogue running throughout the book. Today the conversation in Vincent’s head was about waking up next to his crush and oh my god what should I do?? I’ve done other conversations in the past, and my absolute favorite happened when Vincent was feeling really, really out of it. I had the internal conversation breaking down the tasks he had to do to take a shower, and gently trying to guide him to feel better. That might not have been the best description, but, trust me, it was really cool.

 

Additional Thoughts that kind of have to do with writing, but have more to do with my love of talking when no one can interrupt me (why do you think I’m a writer?):

I told everyone to listen to Hamilton yesterday, and I’m going to say it again. Hamilton is ridiculously amazing, and you should listen to it. A lot of the songs have very different moods to them as well, so if you’re stuck when writing a fight scene you should listen to “Ten Duel Commandments” or if you’re writing a scene where your character is about to meet the love their life you should listen to “Helpless.” Your character just lost a child? Listen to “Stay Alive- Reprise” (for the fear of the parent/ actual death of the child) and “It’s Quiet Uptown” (for the grief of a parent after a child’s death). Seriously, there’s a song for every emotion in this musical.

Sticker charts are incredibly rewarding. I have one going for this writing challenge, and it’s honestly why I’ve been very on top of writing and posting about it.

Also waiting until after I’m done writing to get a drink (like a latte…) from Starbucks is a good strategy. 1. Because I want to get through my writing quicker, and 2. Because I don’t get distracted by the drink when I’m writing. (Have I mentioned how distractible I am?)

I’m going to spend some time looking for a literary/ literacy based charity this afternoon. The club I run- a college literary magazine- has to do a fundraiser this semester, and I’m going to talk to some administration people about donating that money to a charity.

Also I really need to buy a reusable Starbucks cup, because I’m trying really hard to cut down on my trash production.

 

Alright, that’s enough rambling from me. I hope you all have a great day.

Happy Writing!!

4 thoughts on “500 February- Day Four

Leave a Reply

